1950’s – The Beginnings

The White Hills Cricket Club was officially formed in 1952 by Mr Hal Watts, Leo Palmer and Bill Matthews. With Mr Matthews being the clubs first Captain. We played our first two home matches on the ground next to the racecourse, horse stables are now built on the site. It wasn’t until 1954-55 when we played on the turf pitches on the ground in Scott Street, White Hills.

During our second year in the association, we were able to form an A Grade team to join our B Grade side. Unfortunately, the A Grade team were not overly successful, and was disbanded after the season. Good news came in the form of a B Grade Premiership.

Before the 1955-56 season, Kevin (Todda) Slattery joined our side, leading to a remarkable run of 5 Premierships. Kevin became one of the best bowlers in Bendigo Cricket taking over 50 wickets in four of those years. During this period, we also had all-rounder Frank Bulge, who scored 8 centuries as well as being a successful off-spin bowling. A highlight during this period came in the 1959-60 Semi-Final where Bulge and Punch Jelbart combined for a record 312-run partnership, with Bulge scoring 211 retired and Jelbart 102. Bulge backed this performance up with a score of 136 against Eaglehawk in the Grand Final.

White Hills were unstoppable in the latter stage of the 1955/56 season that we won 24 games in a row before losing to Bendigo United in the final home and away match of 1957/58. This obviously spurred the team on as they went on to win the next 22 matches.

In the 1958/59 Grand Final, well known sportsman Carl Carboon took 8/40 from 13 overs to set up a victory over the Bendigo Cricket Club.

Scroll to Top